Shampoo Bars ๐Ÿšฟ ๐Ÿงผ

A great step towards a greener lifestyle is switching your shampoo to a solid bar. Not only because it doesnโ€™t involve plastic but also it stops the waste of water being shipped around in bottles.

There are now many companies getting involved with creating shampoo bars. Some very good, some not much better than a bar of soap! ๐Ÿ™„

So far I have found 2 shampoo bars and one conditioner bar that I think are really good for my hair, and do a good job.

The first thing I had in mind when I was hunting down shampoo bars was that I have naturally blonde hair and usually buy shampoos especially for blonde hair to stop them from going dull.

The first shampoo bar made specifically for blonde hair that I found to be very effective in caring for my hair was one called โ€˜Blonde Ambitionโ€™ by bath bubble and beyond. You can buy their products from various outlets online. And they sell many shampoo bars in their range for different needs.

โ€œNo fuss, no mess. Simple, solid (SLES-free) shampoo does away with wasteful over-packaging and environmental worries in one. Perfect for anyone who loves the planet as much as their hair. Not a gimmick, these rich, solid shampoo bars effectively cleanse and moisturise to leave your hair looking nourished and healthy. Shampoo bars are economic too as each bar keeps on working, lasting so much longer than a bottle of liquid shampoo. Available in eight different varieties, thereโ€™s one to suit every hair type. Perfect for everyday use and ideal in the wash-bag for visits to the gym, at the swimming pool or to take on holiday!โ€

The Bath Bubble and beyond shampoo bars are Vegan and free from parabens and SLS.

I found it to lather up brilliantly! Just as good as a liquid shampoo, which made it a nice experience to use! It makes my hair squeaky clean and shiny, and has a fresh citrusy scent but it isnโ€™t over powering and actually pretty subtle.

Fresh lemon juice is great for freshening up fair hair. Sweet almond oil conditions, while Marigold Infusion helps to soothe the scalp and strengthen hair growth. Zingy lemon fragrance.

Bath Bubble and Beyond

I teamed it up with the โ€˜Blonde ambitionโ€™ conditioner bar.

Lets be honest….. Conditioner bars are really awkward to use at first! This one I found much better when it had been wet a few times and had started to soften up, it meant I could get a decent amount on my hands then and spread it through my hair. (Tip: keep conditioner bar in a tin and allow to stay moist for ease of use the next time).

They also have the full range of matching conditioner bars…

So I found this duo to be brilliant for my fine blonde hair. Keeping my colour bright but also keeping my strands strong but with a good shine. When I first started using this shampoo a colleague asked if Iโ€™d lightened my hair! It isnโ€™t very scented, but my hair does look and feel good without an irritated scalp. 9/10 from me ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Price on Ebay is ยฃ3.99 for shampoo bar and ยฃ7 for the conditioner bar…. the liquid shampoo and conditioner I was buying for blonde hair was 5.99 a bottle so almost ยฃ12…. this solid shampoo and conditioner works out at just under ยฃ11 so I am not spending any more for this eco version and it lasts months ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป Lots of places online sell this range so you can easily shop around.

The next shampoo bar I love is made by Nuddy!

I had to try this shampoo bar after I saw a lot of reviews online about how good it was. โ€˜Practice what you peachโ€™ is a volumising shampoo bar. The first thing I noticed when I received it was the gorgeous peachy smell!

The lather on this one seems to depend on how dirty your hair is… if it is dirty the lather is minimal even though it still cleans… so then when you rinse and then do it again it is super bubbly the second go! It is very easy to use in the same way as the other and gets my hair squeaky clean , strong and shiny but plenty of volume that holds when blow dried! I also found that after a few washes with this my hair is not getting dull even though it isnโ€™t made with blonde hair in mind.

Another thing I noticed after I started using this shampoo.. and I have no idea if this is coincidence – but the amount of hair I lose (and I was losing a lot every single wash and brush) has severely reduced to barely anything!! I have used this shampoo bar for the last 6 washes and it has remained the same with a lack of hair loss ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ๐Ÿ˜ณ

My hair feels strong and healthy and looks shiny after using this bar. They do not have any conditioner bars in this range but they do claim that conditioner shouldnโ€™t be needed. I find I do need conditioner as my hair is fine and prone to frizz as it is naturally a mix of fine curls and waves.

So, a gorgeous peach smell, strong and healthy looking, shiny, volumised hair. No scalp irritation. It has no conditioner but I do really love it and recommend it as much as the first one. 8.8/10

Other shampoos in the Nuddy range include โ€˜I smell like desertโ€™ – Extra thickening shampoo and โ€˜Time for a fresh startโ€™ – Daily shine treatment shampoo.

What Nuddy want us to know about their shampoo bars…. Good to know: pH balanced, soap free, vegan friendly, plastic free, cruelty free, sls/paraben/phthaltes free, made in the U.K. Suitable for most hair types.

โ€œOur shampoo bars donโ€™t just CLEAN your hair, they TREAT it too. Lasting twice as long as a standard shampoo bottle, it delivers uncompromising results, without the wasteful plastic bottle. Approx 80+ washes. No ‘transition period’.โ€

Nuddy shampoo bars are a little more expensive at ยฃ8.95 but it is a MUCH bigger shampoo bar (doesnโ€™t fit in my round shampoo tin) they do have storage bags and tins on their website ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

They also have a range of body soap bars for the shower which I plan on trying out very soon!!

If you would like to try Nuddy with 20% off you can use my link here Nuddy.co.uk

Have fun finding your solid shampoo! ๐Ÿงผ

Lots a love Dee xXx

One thought on “Shampoo Bars ๐Ÿšฟ ๐Ÿงผ

  1. How does humankind correct its collective addiction to disposability when โ€” regardless of scuba diversโ€™ reports of immense tangled plastic messes (not to mention plastic bags found at some of the oceanโ€™s deepest points) โ€” so much of it is not immediately observable, i.e. out of sight, out of mind, thus misperceived as no threat to us?

    It doesnโ€™t surprise me, as general human mentality collectively allows us to, amongst other forms of blatant pollution, throw non-biodegradables down a dark chute like weโ€™re safely dispensing it into a black-hole singularity to be crushed into nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started